What’s For Dinner Tonight?

My Sunday mornings are often about enjoying laziness, and playing with the kitty over a few cups of coffee, but I usually gear up for the chores that have been neglected all week once football is on the tv. I start with the laundry, then get out the vacuum, and pull out the cookbooks to plan the week’s dinner menu, and write up the grocery list (my favorite part, though I do love a clean house). I try to anticipate the week’s activities and work schedule, to see what kind of meals are practical. I know Sundays I have most of the afternoon and evening to make an intense, slow-cooked meal and can have leftovers for Monday evening. Tuesdays I reserve for something really easy, like tacos or soup and sandwiches. Wednesdays and Thursdays I can usually pull off something in an hour (intermediate recipe), and hope that miscellaneous veggies, eggs and maybe a few strips of bacon will get us through Friday and Saturday’s dinner. While I love Sunday meal-planning, there are days when it is 4pm, and I have no idea what to make for dinner, or what’s in the fridge. It’s in these, “What’s for Dinner Tonight?” moments, that I turn to my favorite cooking blogs, chalked full of great recipes.

The Wednesday Chef

101 Cookbooks

Lottie + Doof

Smitten Kitchen

These are not just great resources for recipes, but wonderful blogs to follow. If you do have more than ten minutes to find a recipe, and just want to read about food, these sources are also great reads:

Eat Me Daily

Apartment Therapy The Kitchn

Cooking: Tasting Table Everywhere

Leave a Reply

