Easy Roast Chicken w/ Potatoes

Roast Chicken

When I first started cooking, I felt I had to “master” one dish that could easily be dinner for two with leftovers, or something I could make for a small dinner party. Roast Chicken was the dish I chose, probably because I associate it with Paris, and Julia Child. When I first made Roast Chicken, it turned out okay, but not great, so I found a few different recipes, read “Roast Chicken and Other Stories” (from my mother’s friend, who gave it to me when she found out I was having difficulty making Roast Chicken), and made chicken after chicken until I finally nailed it. Here’s the recipe I use which is really simple and basic, is fail proof, and can be assembled in under seven minutes!

  • 3 lbs. chicken, cut up if offered (if not, buy whole and cut into pieces)*
  • 5 medium Yukon Gold potatoes (feel free to add other root vegetables)
  • 2 lemons
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • Olive Oil, Salt, Pepper, Roasting Pan

Steps, in order:

  1. Heat your oven to 450 degrees
  2. Cut potatoes into medium size cubes (1″x1″), peel garlic (keep whole) and halve lemons
  3. Drizzle olive oil in roasting pan (2 tbsp), place cut up poultry in pan, then place cut up potatoes in pan, then garlic.
  4. Salt, pepper, squeeze lemon juice throughout pan and place in pan, and drizzle with additional olive oil
  5. Cover pan with aluminum foil, place in oven for about an hour, or until chicken breast registers 170 degrees on meat thermometer; then discard aluminum foil and cook for an additional fifteen minutes, or until skin is golden brown.
  6. Serve chicken with potatoes in broth from baking, or make a reduction for chicken gravy.

*If you live in Minneapolis, chicken from the Seward Co-op and Wedge are naturally fed and raised; if you roast the chicken whole (versus cut up), this varies the recipe’s baking time (which takes longer).

Leave a Reply

