Mom’s Baked Fried Chicken

I don’t love chicken, but I love the different ways one can make chicken. After many months of making Roast Chicken, I turned to oven fried chicken but again, failed recipe after recipe. Julia + Tasty Chicken = Persistence. Last week, with everything at home to make Roast Chicken, I imagined the way it would taste (familiar), and the look on Frank’s face (again?). I turned to Epicurious and the 87 recipes turned up from the “fried chicken” search. I would look through them all until I found the right one. This one got me by the “By” which is Pam Ross, Stephen Pascal’s sister; this told me everything I needed to know: It’s a family recipe. This would be the one. I got home, announced oven fried chicken and away we went. I changed a few things from the original recipe, which is added in parenthesis below:
For the chicken

  • 1 whole chicken, cut into parts
  • milk (you’ll want a quart, minimum)
  • 1 stick (1/4 pound) butter
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tablespoon seasoned salt (I didn’t have this, just used some sea salt)
  • 3 teaspoons paprika
  • 2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Make chicken:
Soak chicken in milk to cover for 20 to 30 minutes (I did 30 minutes). Spray a baking dish (one that will accommodate all the chicken pieces comfortably in one layer) with nonstick vegetable-oil spray.

Preheat oven to 400°F. Put the butter (yes, the entire stick of it) in the baking dish and heat it in the oven until the butter melts. Mix flour and seasonings together in paper sack or plastic baggie (1-gallon size) (I put in a large bowl). Shake each piece of chicken in seasoned flour (I rolled the chicken in the bowl, and patted in the seasonings). Place chicken pieces, skin-side down, in baking dish. Bake for 20 minutes. Turn chicken over and bake an additional 20 minutes or until cooked through and crispy (we went an extra 10 to 15 minutes in the oven for crispiness). Remove chicken and set aside in a warm place (or as we did, we ate it).

It was so worth it, in part because it was absolutely delicious, but mostly because Frank liked it so much he enthusiastically put away the leftovers for himself (success!). This is a recipe I will keep in my back pocket, but in all honesty, I hope making this recipe gets me one step closer to making Ad Hoc’s famed Lemon Brined Fried Chicken.

2 Comments on “Mom’s Baked Fried Chicken

    • Let me know if you make it and like it…it’s a pretty good recipe. I love carbonara, and this one is a different recipe from mine – I’ll try it this month and post. Thank you, Eli!

Leave a Reply

