Homemade Hummus & Stuffed Pita


Oh hummus, the food of the Birkenstock wearing and tree hugging lot. Just kidding, though that is sort of what I thought of hummus for a while. Hummus was placed into the food category of “food I do not like and will not eat” for a very long time. However, as all stubborn people with a point to not be too stubborn, I put it on my annual list of foods to give a try (which happens after the winter holidays, when I pick a couple of foods and make sure I try them a handful of times to see I will like it…I usually am converted after a second go. Most people would call this the foodie new year’s resolution). The first few times I tried hummus I thought it was an excellent little tub of dip, perfect for veggies or pita chips when people come over. Very low fuss. Then, in watching the Cook channel on cable, there was this short very animated guy who loves paprika, making homemade hummus. Um…is it really that easy? Apparently so, and Frank gave it two thumbs up, which goes for a lot particularly when sans meat content. Here’s the beauty:

Hummus:
Serves 4
In a food processor, empty one can of chickpeas or garbanzo beans (drained from liquid in can), 3-4 garlic cloves minced, 1 tablespoon paprika, 1 teaspoon cummin and 1/3c olive oil. Blend and serve.
Naturally, we spooned it up into Pita bread (we cut the pitas in half, then stuffed) with cubed chicken, tomatoes from the garden and a good sprinkling of feta cheese. Easy, delicious and healthy.

Leave a Reply

