Good Book: An Object of Beauty, Steve Martin

If you are looking for a fictional novel that is about the art world in NYC but mostly about buying and selling art, you should pick up An Object of Beauty by funny-man Steve Martin. I sat down with the dog, with the cat, some tea and a really warm blanket and read it cover to cover on a particularly blistery Saturday in Minnesota. I do that sometimes – forget it’s the day to get groceries because it’s my day off, or clean the house or fix the bathroom faucet. Instead, I become one with the sofa and there’s no moving me because this book is really, actually (surprisingly) fantastic. Not that I should be surprised, because I read his first novel(la), Shopgirl, and was transported…I should have known this would be no different. Read reviews that are spot on at New York Times or Corduroy Books.

One Comment on “Good Book: An Object of Beauty, Steve Martin

Leave a Reply

