Chicken Fried Steak

Did you watch The Pioneer Woman on Food Network last Saturday? No? Okay. I watched it and then made the featured chicken fried steak and here’s what happened: It made my house smell awful for two days and gave us stomach cramps. The upside was that it taught me how to make gravy and heightened PW’s likeability factor by calling balsamic “basalmic” and doing her own makeup (versus a makeup artist) so she could sleep in a little more. Rene Lynch from the L.A. Times wrote a nice article about it here.

Chicken Fried Steak with Mashed Potatoes and Gravy


You can get the recipe here from The Pioneer Woman’s blog.

I didn’t use cubed steak because my co-op doesn’t carry it, so I used a top round which Lobel’s Meat Bible said would be okay. For the most part, it was, but I can’t help wondering if I should have made a special trip to Cub for cubed steak. Anyway, another lesson is that frying for more time until deep golden brown (the brown that starts to look like black) is good – that’s what will keep it crunchy.

This it is not a meal I would make often because I don’t think I’m making it right and given I’ve never had a proper chicken fried steak from down south, I’m probably not. Perhaps I should have known better when I asked “why isn’t there chicken in the ingredients list?”

Leave a Reply

