Something Like a Philly Cheese Steak

I get stuck in food ruts. Sometimes it’s because I just really like one dish (Fettuccine Alfredo anyone? Or Triple Pepper Pasta?) or it’s because I think there’s only one way to make a certain kind of food. Take Stir Fry meat (which the Co-op so nicely labels). I go home with that and I make Stir Fry. Well, I’m a bit over Stir Fry. One night I was craving diner food – something with grease, butter and cheese. I took out the stir fry meat and browned it in a pool of butter (seriously, about 5 tablespoons worth), and set it aside. Then I took thinly sliced onion and added to the pan the meat was in, cooked on med-low heat until about caramelized (about ten minutes), then added green pepper to onions on medium heat to soften them, about 5 minutes. Add the pepper and onion to plate with meat. Take out hamburger buns and on high heat, place in pan…I tend to push the bun into the pan a bit so it soaks up the juices. After about 4 minutes, the bun should be browned and you can load it up with the meat and veggies to top with some cheese and slip under the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese melts. It’s pretty awesome and very unhealthy. And it sadly reminds me that we’re no longer in the prime pepper season, when I had beasts like these:

Beer can for size relation only, not an endorsement

Leave a Reply

